top of page

Australian Sunrise



I was never a ‘morning person.’ My idea of holidays was sleeping in, cotton sheets caressing me in dream after luxurious dream. Ah, childhood! Later in life, it was quite a revelation that people actually got up before 6am. It was a greater shock that I was also one of those people who had to rise early to survive the day. How times change!


I used to live in the picturesque suburb of Seatides, nestled on the North Coast of Kwa-Zulu Natal, South Africa. Long ago. Oceans away. I loved the place. I loved that my children grew up with the Indian Ocean on their doorstep, its breath revitalising their souls.


Now I live in Australia, on a property we purchased two years ago. Our house is not the newest or most beautiful in the world. It’s lovely though for the wealth within it, which money cannot buy. Our treasures are our meals together, our dogs with the laughter they bring, and our yard with its spectacular views of the sunrise, sunset, and night skies.


I sometimes get up when it’s still dark, with the bright morning star and the moon in the sky. Shortly after, light gently touches the eastern horizon, turning it pink, then gold, a silent symphony of a new dawn. The birds sing as they wing across the new sky, while the moon, morning star and sun share this majestic stage for a few fleeting moments.


This breath-taking, dynamic birth of a new day speaks to me. Its message on a fresh canvas says, ‘I created this just for you. This is the day that I have made. Rejoice and be glad in it. My mercies are new every morning.’

I reply, ‘Thank You for this sunrise. It’s free, priceless, matchless.’


Salvation too, is free, priceless, matchless, but it cost Jesus his life, his blood, to set you free from sin and death. You can choose to arise from spiritual slumber and look up, letting the Son rise into your life. Darkness will flee. Believe and receive while you still have the gift of a new day.


Love and God bless

Roshni


Scriptures

1. This is the day that the LORD has made, we will rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

2. The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning, great is your faithfulness. Lamentations 3:22-23

3. To go to heaven, pray: ‘Dear God please forgive me for my sins. I believe Jesus is your son who died on the cross to pay for my sins. He rose from the dead and lives forever. Come into my heart, Jesus. I give you my life. I turn away from all sin and turn to you. Amen.’

Holy Bible, New King James Version, Thomas Nelson, 1994

Holy Bible, English Standard Version, Bible Gatewayhttps://www.biblegateway.com/

Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page